Balisage logo

Call for Participation
Balisage: The Markup Conference 2018

Balisage is the premier conference on the theory, practice, design, development, and application of markup. We solicit papers on any aspect of markup and its uses; topics include but are not limited to:

Full papers should be submitted by the deadline given below. All papers are peer-reviewed — we pride ourselves that you will seldom get a more thorough, skeptical, or helpful review than the one provided by Balisage reviewers.

Anyone interested in sound technical discussion of issues relating to markup is welcome at Balisage. The conference is dedicated to the exchange of useful information; many attendees have a technical bent, but managers who need to understand XML or related technologies and end users who want to understand better what their technical people are telling them, will also enjoy Balisage.
Just Ask
Email: for help, advice, or encouragement about a Balisage submission.
Wonder if your idea will make an appropriate Balisage paper? Ask us! Unsure if the people at Balisage would be interested in the work you are doing? We'll be happy to discuss it with you! Need help making your paper into XML as required for submission? Speak up; we'll find someone to help.
  • 22 March 2018 — Peer review applications due
  • 22 April 2018 — Paper submissions due
  • 21 May 2018 — Speakers notified
  • 8 June 2018 — Late-breaking News submissions due
  • 15 June 2018 — Late-breaking News speakers notified
  • 6 July 2018 — Final papers due from presenters of peer reviewed papers
  • 6 July 2018 — Short paper or slide summary due from presenters of late-breaking news
  • 30 July 2018 — Pre-conference Symposium
  • 31 July –3 August 2018 — Balisage: The Markup Conference
Submit full papers in XML to
See the pages Instructions for Authors and Tag Set and Submission Guidelines for details.
Apply to the Peer Review panel

Help us make Balisage your favorite XML Conference. See you this summer in Rockville, Maryland, just outside Washington, D.C.

Debbie Lapeyre
Jim Mason
C. M. Sperberg-McQueen
B. Tommie Usdin
Norm Walsh